How Do I Smell?

What do I smell like? (May I ask that more figuratively than literally?)

My friend showed me these roses she has grown at Blue Hill Farms. Then she took me on an aromatherapy tour:
“This white one smells like cold cream,” she said. Sorry, but I associate cold cream with little old ladies who overconsume rouge.

“This one smells really fruity,” she continued. Pretty cool.

“This one smells like an old-world rose.” Very nice.

“This pretty purple one smells really nice. It’s called an Angelface.” Whoa! Pretty and really nice do not begin to describe the Angelface.

I hope this is how I smell. Maybe Saint Paul had an Angelface rose on his desk when he wrote “Thanks be to God, who always leads us as captives in Christ’s triumphal procession and uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere. For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ” (2 Corinthians 2:14-15).

Sometimes Christians stink. I’d rather be like Angelface.

About Ben Unseth

Migrant executive and professor.
This entry was posted in Ojai Valley and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment