Saeed Abedini: Free at Last

 

Abedini Saeed hashtag 280x210American pastor, Saeed Abedini, was set free by Iran today after being imprisoned since September 2012.  He was jailed while he was working under the guidance of the Iranian government in launching an orphanage for Muslim children.

Abedini was serving an 8-year term in prison for his faith in God. He experienced internal bleeding from beatings, torture and psychological torment.

Christianity Today has a good article on the release here:
http://www.christianitytoday.com/gleanings/2016/january/iran-frees-pastor-saeed-abedini-after-three-years-prison.html

January Letter

In January 2013, he sent a message to his wife.

He wrote:

“I always wanted God to make me a godly man. I did not realize that in order to become a godly man, we need to become like steel under pressure. It is a hard process of warm and cold to make steel. This is the process of my life today. One day I am told that I will be freed and allowed to see my wife and kids on Christmas—which was a lie. And the next day I am told I will hang for my faith in Jesus. One day there are intense pains after beatings and interrogations. The next day they are nice to you and offer you candy….

“What is in us is stronger than what is in the world, and it has conquered the world.
“Pastor Saeed Abedini, in chains for our Lord Jesus Christ”

February Letter


In February he wrote to his wife again:
“The conditions here get so very difficult that my eyes get blurry, my body does not have the strength to walk….
“After all of the nails they have pressed against my hands and feet, they are only waiting for one thing…for me to deny Christ. But they will never get this from me…..
“I deeply need God’s saving grace so that I can be the fragrant scent of Christ in the dark house of Evin prison….
“So, see your golden opportunities in pressures and difficulties.
“See the Shining Morning Star in the dark times of your life.”

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saeed Abedini: Free at Last

  1. Hernvall@aol.com says:

    Thank you Pastor Ben for sharing and keeping us on your mailing list. Elaine

Leave a Reply

