Farmer’s Market Stew

One word from a teen-age omnivore was all I needed for a perfect day. He downed a bowlful of lentil and fennel stew and said, “Fabulous!”

fennelThis morning I went to the Farmer’s Market to find great soup! It’s not wintery in Southern California, but the cool evenings beckon for stew. First, just-picked fennel with bulb, branches and leaves (If you’ve never experienced fennel, it’s sort of a combination of a turnip and celery that smells like anise.). Then, fresh basil, sage and potatoes. Added carrots, onion, and green onions. Stopped at the grocery store for lentils and sausage.

Simmered lentils and sausage and commenced veggie prep. Rinse, chop, repeat. Sautéed mushrooms and added to the pot. The house smelled heavenly.

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in culture, food, health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farmer’s Market Stew

  1. Sulfen says:

    I envy people that can eat a lot of vegetables. I’m a natural carnivore but I’ve been trying to cut down on my meat intake and increase my vegetable intake. I love my lentil soup with tomato, banana, pineapple, and bacon. I probably wouldn’t eat it without the bacon.

Leave a Reply

