Godly Mischief

It is a godly deed to toilet paper a locker!

Why? Because the Bible tells me so—sort of. “Let’s see how inventive we can be in encouraging love and helping out” (Hebrews 10:24, Message).

Last August I was with an incoming high school freshman when she opened her new locker for the first time. Exercising great concentration, she slowly spoke the combination as she conquered the lock, and I wrote the numbers down. All year I have had this vital code smoldering, waiting to ignite.

How could I use this Top Secret information to encourage her? In December or January I could have deposited a Hershey bar in her locker, but I didn’t. Now it is too hot to leave chocolate in an outdoor locker. With the school year almost gone, I was racking my brains last week over what to do. Time was running out. Eureka! TP her locker!

I wish that I could have been there on Tuesday morning when she came back from Memorial Day weekend and opened her locker to this. Her locker was full of TP, and the verse I left reads, “I pray that you…may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God” (Ephesians 3:17-19). That’s even better than being full of toilet paper.

Encouragement. She was happy! I can’t think of it without smiling. Her family got to laugh out loud together.

What have you done this week to encourage someone? To encourage is simply “to inspire with confidence” or “to stimulate by approval.” Intentional positive attention gives people courage.

If you TP a locker, don’t blame me if you get in trouble. Do what fits you. Choose your target! Aim carefully! Infuse someone with courage! Then tell us what you did!

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in Hypertext: words that point up, values and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

