Celebrity Worship

What a crazy week. On Sunday morning I worshiped with Kari. On Monday afternoon as I flew from LAX to Nashville, NBC played a commercial for The Sing-Off. Kari, who led worship with me on Sunday morning, was serenading me at 37,000 feet via NBC.

Monday night I tuned into The Sing-Off, and there she was! Awesome!

Tuesday I was in meetings and set up an exhibit for a conference.

Wednesday morning as I left my hotel, country music star Alan Jackson’s semi was parked in the street along with several other tractor-trailer rigs. A concert stage was going up right in the middle of the street. That evening a friend and I walked down an alley so that we could enjoy a free Alan Jackson concert. Because 20,000 other people had the same idea, we could only get within a block of the stage. We listened to a few songs and navigated out of the crowd back to our hotel room.

The sound was just as good in our room as long as the door was propped open. To our surprise, when we took a few steps to the right outside our door, we could watch Alan Jackson from behind the stage! Our balcony gave us a crowd-free seat. He was 100 yards away, but there he was—living, breathing, singing!

Even better, on Sunday morning I worshiped again with my TV friend, Kari. For the first time, she led us in the Kyrie:
Lord, have mercy, Christ, have mercy, Lord, have mercy.
In peace let us pray to the Lord,
For the reign of God, and for peace throughout the world, for the unity of all,
For your people here, who have come to give you praise,
For the strength to live your Word let us pray to the Lord.
Lord, have mercy, Christ, have mercy, Lord, have mercy.

Alan Jackson has more hit songs than Kari. Alan Jackson has more fans than Kari…so far. However, the judges on The Sing-off are becoming Kari’s fans like me:
Sarah Bareilles: “Kari, I loved you!”
Ben Folds: “The bass, the beat box, Kari, you guys were totally locked.”
Shawn Stockman named her for individual praise too!

I am grateful that Kari sings on NBC and worships with us. Paul wrote, “When you come together, each of you has a hymn, or a word of instruction, a revelation, a tongue or an interpretation. Everything must be done so that the church may be built up” (1 Corinthians 14:26, NIV). Kari comes with the music that God has planted in her soul and that she has faithfully cultivated.

I have loved watching Kari on TV. Now I look forward to worshiping with her on Sunday. And if Alan Jackson stops by, we will welcome him too.

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in culture, Ojai Valley, worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

