What Do I Smell Like?

Last Monday I ran the 10k course for my upcoming race in Ojai. It was my first time around the 6.2-mile loop. Halfway along I was out of juice and beginning a long incline. I had given up looking at beautiful scenery and was plodding north along Rice Road, watching just carefully enough to avoid twisting an ankle.

Blind to my surroundings, I suddenly knew where I was. Aroma assaulted me! Across the road were horse pens, dozens of beautiful, large animals in their fragrant environments. Whew!

I kept plodding, and the scent fell away.

A few blocks farther . . . ahhhh! I hadn’t seen them, but I knew what was across the street—orange trees! The orange orchard carried me along even after I had jogged past the beautiful scent.

Maybe Paul was somewhere like Ojai when he wrote: God “uses us to spread the aroma of the knowledge of him everywhere. For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing” (2 Corinthians 2:14-15).

What do I smell like today?

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in Hypertext: words that point up, Ojai Valley, sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

