I Hate Funerals!

In the Garden of Eden there was no corner set aside for a cemetery. This world was not created for funerals. We were created to live forever. Funerals were not part of God’s perfect plan.

When Jesus went to a funeral, he busted it up. He raised the young man back to life and gave him to his mother.

When Jesus came to his friend Lazarus’ grave, he wept. Then, because he hated death, he raised Lazarus from the dead!

I hate funerals.

In spite of a funeral, today is a good day! I have three reasons to exclaim this:

Writing from a prison cell, Saint Paul tells us, “Rejoice in the Lord always! I will say it again: Rejoice!”

King David knew the ache of grief…and looked forward with hope. He wrote, “My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me all day long, ‘Where is your God?’ I say to God my Rock, ‘Why have you forgotten me? Why must I go about mourning? Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.’” (Psalm 42:3, 9, 11)

I know this is a good day because I stood up today―on January 8―and led a funeral for a good friend of mine. This was not my first funeral on January 8. The last time, however, I was the sole pallbearer. I carried the casket of my only child, Spencer. Less than three months old, the casket weighed little on a scale but crushed me step by step.

I had no desire to wake up that day.

Today I can declare that God comforts. God heals. God strengthens. God restores.

Today is a good day!

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in Hypertext: words that point up and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

