Narnia Message Series

How do we communicate Advent and Christmas today? At Holy Cross, we are hosting “A Christmas Advent-ure: Your Voyage to the End of the World.” Alongside Scripture, we will focus on characters from C.S. Lewis’ latest Narnia movie, Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

Nov. 28 Reepicheep (Isaiah 2.1-5)
Bible
“They will beat their swords into plowshares
“and their spears into pruning hooks.
“Nation will not take up sword against nation,
“nor will they train for war anymore.”
(Isaiah 2.4)

Voyage of the Dawn Treader
“It might not be safe,” said King Caspian.
“We have our swords, Sire,” said Reepicheep. (p 40).
“Coward!” squeaked Reepicheep. “Give me my sword, and free my paws if you dare.” (p 42)
At the end of the world, Reepicheep “took off his sword (‘I shall need it no more,’ he said.) and flung it far across the lilied sea.” (p 244)

Dec. 5 King Caspian (Psalm 72.1-7, 18-19)
Bible
“The king…will judge your people in righteousness…will bring prosperity to the people…will defend the afflicted among the people and save the children of the needy; he will crush the oppressor. He will endure as long as the sun, as long as the moon, through all generations. He will be like rain.” (Psalm 71.1-5)

Voyage of the Dawn Treader
“It is our wish,” said Caspian, “that our royal visitation should…if possible be an occasion of joy, and not of terror to our loyal subjects.” (p 55)
“I can take no responsibility,” said Governor Gumpas.
“Very well, then,” answered Caspian, “we relieve you of your office…. I declare every slave in the market free.” (p 59, 61)

Dec. 12 Lord Bern (Matthew 11.2-11)
Bible
“Are you the one who was to come, or should we expect someone else?” (Matthew 11.2)

Voyage of the Dawn Treader
“The man who had bought King Caspian led him into an open place behind the village.”
“ ‘You needn’t be afraid of me, my boy,’ he said. ‘I’ll treat you well. I bought you for your face. You reminded me of someone…my Master, King Caspian of Narnia.”
“ ‘I am your master, I am Caspian, King of Narnia.’ ”
“ ‘By heaven,’ exclaimed the man, ‘it is his father’s very voice.… My liege—your Majesty—’ and there in the field he knelt and kissed the king’s hand.” (p 46-47)

Dec. 19 King Edmund (Isaiah 7.10-16)
Dec. 24 Eustace (Christmas Eve; Titus 2.11-14)
Dec. 26 Lord Rhoop (Matthew 2.13-23)

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in communication, culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

