I Am the Sheep Who Got Lost

I am the sheep who got lost.
I have stepped off the path.
I have missed the mark.
I have damaged relationships.

I have polluted my heart.
I have planted weeds in my mind.
I have downloaded viruses into my soul.
I have wandered away from my Father’s house.

There are stains that I cannot wash clean.
There are moments when I should have spoken up.
There are words that I should never have said.
There are chains that I cannot break.

But I know that your steadfast love is offered despite my wanderings.
I confess, Lord Jesus, that your life, death, and resurrection open a better way to live—with clean hands and a pure heart.

Together we confess, Holy Spirit, that by your presence and power we are renewed in faith and life. Before you, O God, we stand, in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Amen

What do you recommend?

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in worship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Am the Sheep Who Got Lost

  1. Thanks for stopping by my site. I am intrigued by the workings of your new confession and its nexus with my sermon on Ezekiel in the shadow of Christ the King. Ironically I read your words as I am finishing two papers- one on the global slave trade and its nexus with the cocoa industry. The other on urban ministry and how we often overlook the needs of children in the midst of our striving even though to ignore them leaves God’s oikonomia incomplete. Your words resonate on many levels and make our confession contemporaneous to our lived existence. Glad to have found your site in return.

  2. Ben Unseth says:

    Carolyn,
    We share the goal of worship that integrates into life and culture. If you want to see a little of where I’m coming from, have a look at my post, “Confession for People Who Don’t Feel Sinful.”

Leave a Reply

