Focus and Near-Misses

Where’s your focus? Who do you see? Who do you fail to see?

A couple months ago I was marching through Dallas-Fort Worth Airport. I was thoroughly enjoying a phone conversation with my nephew Josh in New York City. Then, an interruption: “Ben Unseth!” There, on my port side, was my nephew Daniel from Dallas.

He was outward bound to visit his wife in Zaire, Africa. They work with Wycliffe Bible Translators. Having missed Daniel’s wedding last year, I was thrilled to walk with him. He showed me a giant air conditioning unit that he had installed at DFW, and he guided me to the tram stop to speed up my trip to my departure gate. What a perfect evening!

Tonight I was lollygagging through O’Hare Airport in Chicago, listening intently to election coverage on my iPhone. Fortunately, Rod Quanbeck was more alert than I was. My college buddy ran me down, and we got to catch up on the last several years since he visited us in Ventura, California.

He and his wife were returning from their 10th Wedding Anniversary trip to Seattle . . . where they first met! Rodney is thriving as the executive director of Ingham Okoboji Lutheran Bible Camps in northwestern Iowa.

Daniel and Rod do make me wonder. . . . Who have I missed today, this week, this month? Who has God put in my physical space for me to connect with? I am not drowning in guilt. I cannot focus on everything around me.

Still. . . . I plan to cultivate some observational awareness. I would have hated to miss my time with these brothers.

Lord, help me see what and who you put in my path.

About Ben Unseth

Executive Director at Project Understanding (2014-2017), social service agency in Ventura, CA
This entry was posted in communication, Hypertext: words that point up and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

